When I get my head on straight I'll tell ya

Save the fucking Script

As I’m sure many have said before, AT&T has some of the most ineffective, inefficient, and irresponsible costumer service reps in the industry. And honestly I usually don’t say that, I’ve worked in call centers before, I understand the pressure of trying to help someone on the other end of the phone when it might be something simple but they just can’t understand how to do it. I mean you may have heard what a carburetor, a manifold, a starter, or even a head gasket was but could you replace one if somebody on the phone said that was probably your problem. How about the last time someone left something somewhere and they tried to direct you to it? How many “it’s on top of the thing”s, “You know down by that”s, or “it should be right there”s did it take for you to get frustrated. They know what they see mentally, they know how it should work, but you on the other end are stuck dealing with what you see, understand, and how it is currently working.

It’s not a good situation for anybody, but when that person is a customer one of the easiest things to do(I said easiest not cheapest, at least short term) is replace the equipment. Oh trust me, I have a boss too and my boss chaff’s at the thought of saving time versus POSSIBLY saving money.  Little hint that he always ignores only one of them you can actually make back. And when it comes to a customer, if you value your equipment over your and their time, you may or may not have your equipment but you will definitely lose THAT customer.

Walk with me here, because unless you are a farmer you really can’t eat your product and survive. the reason for tonights rant is an 8 hour dance with 4 AT&T customer care resolutionists, two onsite technicians and a piece of shit modem. A piece of shit modem that should have been replaced by the two technicians, but of course it was easier to run a quick “diagnostic” on the modem, see all green and SWEAR there wasn’t a problem instead of actually doing the job and replacing the modem.

So what is wrong with the modem, who knows what’s wrong with it, but I know what problems it causes dealing with it. I’m at a store, I do a little port forwarding(which SHOULD take about 10-15 minutes), which should allow him to access some of his equipment from home. It appears to work, but actually doesn’t. I’m annoyed but I figure it may only be another 10 minutes, until he tries to run a credit card. I didn’t touch the phone side of his modem, but somehow I just knocked out his credit cards. OH SHIT, this ain 20 years ago when we were all either cash or check nah today you know it’s debit, credit, EBT, and chip card. Which means your phone/internet lines need to be able to connect to those banks, hell I’m old enough to remember when they didn’t run your check through the register but just wrote your license number on top of it and put it in the drawer. The promise that you had money or else you were gonna lose that money and probably 60-70 bucks as you paid both returned check fees. Now it’s swipe a card, put in your pin, or else sign the register tap and viola the merchant gets their money, and you walk away with your recently desired product.

Whether or not it is literally bread and butter is immaterial, as long as the exchange is made all are happy(or at least close enough to happy so that minus a few “cheap fucks” or “money hungry bastards” etc said under the breath) all part amicably. Cigarettes, snack cakes, beer, soda, chips or knick knacks that are gonna break 10 minutes after you get in the car(just like your mama said, don’t hide from that look you knew she was right) once that approved flashes across the screen away we go.

Leave a Reply

